Intelligent Systems + Atlus = Shin Megami Emblem?

Breaking news coming from an anonymous inside source at Nintendo suggest that a Fire Emblem styled Shin Megami Tensei game is on the drawing board for the Wii U.  Tentatively given the title of “Devil Survivor Ultimate” I do not know whether this means a rebalancing of Devil Survivor 1, (or Overclocked or 2), a new Devil Survivor 3, or a side-story, but after Pokémon X Nobunaga’s Ambition, I’m ready for anything.

This will be the first time that two of the Big 5 jRPG franchises will have crossed over (to form an RPG) in the history of video games.

Personally, I’m hoping for an online title in which a global demon-infestation occurs (as is the tradition for SMT games), and individual trainers can band together or go it alone in online tactical battles.  I would imagine that there would be incentives not only for PvE but PvP as well (Law/Chaos/Neutral factions?)

Then again, with Dragon Quest X already headed to the Wii and Wii U, I have to wonder if there would be room for another online RPG within the same time frame.  Perhaps Nintendo is preparing a backup plan for when Dragon Quest X has run its course and the RPGing audience is ready for the next “Big Thing.”

I’m sorry I can’t dress up this post like my others, but I’m just posting this as I hear it.

Updates as they happen.

Update: The source was confirmed to be the same one claiming that the Wii U was less powerful than the PS3 and Xbox 360 and that you would only be able to use one controller with the system.  In other words, nobody.  In other words, April Fool’s!

About Guardian Hero

I've been playing video games ever since I was little. I grew up knowing that a positive attitude and the drive to succeed, you will always win.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Intelligent Systems + Atlus = Shin Megami Emblem?

  1. what? I….WHAT? Am I psychic?

A comment thread approacheth! Thy Command?

